The esteemed Brennan’s of Houston was rebuilt and opened this spring after being severely damaged by fire as a result of Hurricane Ike last year. Studio RED Architects, in partnership with Linbeck Construction and Pin Oak Interests of Houston and The Johnson Studio of Atlanta, restored 80 percent of the original John F. Staub 1930 design while bringing the building up to 2009 standards. A Houston landmark, the building was designed to house the Junior League of Houston to evoke the image of the French Quarter, before it became home to Brennan’s Restaurant in 1967.
Real Estate BISNOW spoke with Studio RED architect Andrew Brochtrup about the actual design process and logistics renovating a 1930 John Staub building after 20 years of renovating Staub homes with Studio RED partner Bill Neuhaus. Read the article here.
AIA Houston reported Alex Brennan-Martin’s, owner of Brennan’s, comments on his experience working with Studio RED: “The architects at Studio RED had the vision that while we were restoring a romantic ruin, we didn’t have to put it back exactly as it was. We restored some Staub features that we had earlier covered up-but then we enhanced the design as well to make it work better. It’s a way to hold on to an old piece of Houston.”